I want to:
Home > Residents > Citizen Awards and Recognition > Museum Wall of Honour Share This Print

Museum Wall of Honour

The Museum on the Boyne’s Wall of Honour was created in 2003 to recognize contribution(s), support and/ or promotion of history and heritage matters in South Simcoe County and at the Museum. Recipients of this award value our local history and work hard to collect, preserve and advocate for it.

Each year a person is elected from a deserving group of nominees by the Museum on the Boyne Advisory Committee. A presentation occurs during Heritage Week to honour the dedication of the individual with family, friends, and colleagues in the heritage field.

Submit a Nomination

Please complete the Nomination Form and return it with a photo of your nominee for consideration.

Nomination forms should be addressed to:

Museum Curator
10 Wellington Street East,
Alliston, ON  L9R 1A1
(705) 435-3900 or (905) 729-0057
Fax:  (705) 435-2873

Museum Wall of Honour – 2016 Inductees

Dr. David Chambers

David Chambers has contributed to the promotion of heritage of the community and was recently presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ontario Heritage Trust for his work in preserving built heritage. He has contributed to two local history books, Tecumseth Township the Unforgettable Past and Governor Simcoe Slept Here. He also served on the Tecumseth LACAC prior to amalgamation and on the Heritage Committee for Bradford West Gwillimbury.

Councillor Ron Simpson

Ron Simpson was an active member of the Museum on the Boyne Advisory Committee for two terms and was a long-time member of the Bradford West Gwillimbury Town Council. He was a member of the local Lions and Probus clubs and had a strong interest in local history.

Past Museum Wall of Honour Inductees

2015 – Ralph Wilding
2014 – Peter Monahan
2013 – Brian Baker
2012 – Olive Lee
2011 – Bill Marks
2010 – Joe McCarroll
2009 – Mary Munnoch
2008 – Ernest Cumberland
2007 – Bert Platt
2006 – Gordon Wright, Allan Anderson, Betty Anderson
2005 – Burton Ford
2004 – Earl Hansen
2003 – Shirley Gibson